Işıklar World Offshore 225 Championship on Lake Van
Click image
to enlarge
The fifth race of Isiklar World Offshore 225 Championship took place at Lake Van with 9 boats at the lineup. ECI Men Cosmetics (88), the unbeatable team with pilots Kerem Tuncer and Alpay Akdilek finished the race in the first place and took home their fifth cup this season with a time of 43.31.343.
The team to step on to second place on the podium was YKM Sport (2) piloted by Saruhan Tan and Kerim Zorlu who scored a time of 43.59.234. Another team that we have been seeing on the podium since the start of the season is Besiktas – Miele with pilots Murat Leki and Orçun Tufan who took third place on Saturday’s race with their time of 44.29.334.

The day at Lake Van began with technical checks in the morning and followed with qualifying rounds. The championship leaders Kerem Tuncer and Alpay Akdilek of team ECI Men Cosmetics took the pole position with a time of 1.32.735; they were followed 3 seconds later by Beşiktaş – Miele team piloted by Murat Leki and Orcun Tufan. The newcomers of this season Nevzat Arman and Onur Özgül of team Efe Project – Mitsubishi Electric achieved a time of 1.35.391 which took them to third place at the start.

The race took place on a 2-mile course over 25 laps with the participation of pilots from Spain, USA, Puerto Rico, Portugal, Italy and Turkey. The race was run in clear weather but on choppy waters and the only penalty, a stop and go, went to WD40 boat which violated the buoy rules at the pit stop exit in the tenth lap. The winners received their trophies from Münir Karaloğlu, Governor of Van, Murat Uzunparmak, Deputy Governor, Nurullah Ertaş, District Governor and Deputy Governor of Van, Fatih Çiftçi, Van MP, Enver Oral, President of Developing Sport Branches Federation and Harry Fabritius, UIM Commissioner.